So, I’ve done a film I love, now to do one I hate. With a passion. Image

Being in a school surrounded by morons who will lap up anything James Cameron puts in front of them, I have grown to despise this film. Yes, I know, it’s their opinion, but most of them haven’t even seen the bloody movie and still say it’s the most romantic film ever! When I ask them why they think that, they just say: “Well, it’s a true story…” I stop them there. No. It is not a true story. Probably everyone reading this knows that it is not a true story!

Why do I dislike it? Sometimes, Cameron just doesn’t know when to cut down a movie to a normal length. When I say sometimes I mean most of the time but then again we have this problem with a lot of big directors. It’s too long. There are way too many establishing shots in this film, yes we do know that it’s set on a boat, thank you. There are way too many shots of people waving. There are way too many moments which just make you cringe-

“I’m the king of the world!” Yeah. Cheesy. 

Now, I have nothing against Leonardo Di Caprio and Kate Winslet, both perfectly respectable actors who did a fine job on this movie. BUT FOR CHRIST’S SAKE DON’T JUMP BACK ONTO A SINKING SHIP TO BE WITH YOUR BOYFRIEND WHEN HE’D HAVE A BETTER CHANCE SURVIVING ALONE! I mean, he found that driftwood, he would have been able to get onto it and save himself. So in the end it’s kind of Rose’s fault that he died. 

I could rant on and on about the things I don’t like about this film… or it’s 3D successor. (As Screen Junkies would say, “You can literally feel James Cameron stealing money from your pockets!”) But I should really wrap up before my computer explodes with anger. 

Star wise? 2/5. It’s not the worse film ever made, but it’s one I hate due to all the hype around it. 

 

