This news couldn’t possibly come at a greater time for me, I am currently studying the first one for Superhero movies in film and I even reviewed it recently, which you can read below. It seems that the universe just fell into place, as I had argued with a fellow student just before it was announced, that if any movie deserved a sequel it was this one. 

Image

So it’s happening. Disney CEO Bob Iger revealed that the sequel to The Incredibles is in development. You can imagine my joy when I saw that it had been announced. It was all I could talk about, as seen in the texts I sent to my friend:

Image

I’m just a little bit over excited…

Unfortunately, the price we have to pay is… you guessed it, Cars 3. Why, Pixar, why!? I was disappointed by this announcement, I’m hoping Pixar won’t cheapen itself too much with this franchise which seems to be aimed purely at pre-teen boys. Or some of the shockingly slow boys who are my age. It seems that since being part of Disney that Pixar has been making a lot more sequels rather than original stories.

But hey, THEY’RE MAKING AN INCREDIBLES 2! I’m really hoping that I won’t be disappointed by this sequel, when it comes out in the far future. Brad Bird has had 10 years of coming up with little plot points and ideas, but was always a little hesitant about making a sequel to his beloved film. He said in 2007 that, “Pixar does not look at sequels as a financial plan. We feel we have a relationship with the audience and that they believe in each movie we put out. We believe completely in every movie we put out. If I can come up with a story that is as good or better than that first film, then I’d love to return to that world, but it would have to be story first.”

Image

Brad Bird: The man behind the man behind the mask.

However, the same year he also said, “I have pieces of things that I would love to see in a sequel, but I haven’t got them all together yet, and I certainly wouldn’t want to come out there with something that is less than the original.” And to that I say… Thank God for that! I’ve had quite enough of crappy sequels which are made purely to make money, with no heart or soul going into the story. If Brad Bird thinks it’s worth writing, then I’m putting my love of the movie in his hands and hoping for a really good sequel. Unlike Cars 3. 

Image

Pretty much how I felt when I heard…

So are you excited for the sequel? Will it live up to the first film? We’ll just have to see…

Click for my The Incredibles (2004) Review.

 

