If an action movie has Shane Black’s name on it, I’m likely to go and see it. He mixes fun and thrilling action with sarcasm and wit that has me both rolling on the floor with laughter and gripping at my seat. When I first really got into watching movies, I became a huge Shane Black fan and he still is one of my favourite screenwriters. Here are 3 of my favourite Shane Black movies that really are a must-see, especially if you love action, gun fights and explosions…

Lethal Weapon (1987)

Black’s first screenplay was a hit, a great buddy cop action comedy about a recently-turned 50 year old veteran cop, Murtaugh (Danny Glover) who is paired with a suicidal and slightly insane younger cop, Riggs (Mel Gibson). They end up being paired together in order to try and take down a gang of drug smugglers. This is undoubtably one of the best action duos ever, as the tension and differences between the two make for great comedy. Not to mention the fact that Black introduced his ever-famous Murtaugh quote which is repeated in all 4 movies… “I’m too old for this s**t!”

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang (2005)

Robert Downey Junior and Val Kilmer star together in Black’s directorial debut, a hilariously dark film noir about a petty crook who accidentally gets involved in a murder mystery with his struggling actress childhood friend and a fabulous private eye. I have already reviewed this film on my blog, which you can read here, and I still think that this has one of the best narrations of all time. I hate narration. But I love this one. This is a great comedy that I always enjoy watching.

The Long Kiss Goodnight (1996)

This is the first Shane Black movie I ever saw. I was about 13, and having really enjoyed Tim Burton’s Beetlejuice, which I had only just recently watched, I quite liked Geena Davis. We got it on LoveFilm and I was all excited when I saw Geena Davis and Samuel L. Jackson on the cover because I thought both of them were really cool. Needless to say, I loved this movie. This was probably one of Renny Harlin’s only successes as a director, and the wit coming from both of the main characters had me quoting them endlessly for about a month after the first viewing. I loved the dynamic between Davis and Jackson, Samantha Caine was a small town school teacher with amnesia as to her life before an accident where she was found washed up on a beach, and Mitch Henessey was the private investigator she hired to find out about her past. Caine starts to find she has unusual skills and after a violent attack and kidnapping she finds that she was in fact the murderous and potty-mouthed expert CIA assassin Charlie Baltimore. As a 13 year old girl, Charlie Baltimore was an awesome action hero, and even though it is a little bit more unknown than the others, I still recommend this movie to anyone I now who enjoys action films.

What is your favourite Shane Black movie?

 

