I’m not exactly the biggest gamer in the world; I’ve never played GTA or COD or any of those things and the last game I remember playing is Mario Kart against my nine year old cousin. I’m proud to say that I did not lose that one. Even though I don’t tend to focus my time on looking up the latest games, one game that is soon to be released has caught my eye.Alien-Isolation-Screenshot-Xenomorph-Closeup

Anyone who reads this blog knows I’m a huge Alien fan (read my Alien 1979 review here) and I became very excited at the prospect of a game based on Ridley Scott’s original.. and not a complete failure like Aliens: Colonial Marines. I immediately found myself looking Alien: Isolation up and geeking out to the point that some of my friends were very worried about me. Why am I so excited for this game to come out? (And for me to convince one of my friends to buy it so I can camp out at their house for a couple of days?) Here are some reasons why:

You get to play as Ripley’s daughterAlien-Isolation-Ripley

 

Amanda Ripley was only vaguely mentioned in a deleted scene from Aliens where Ripley discovers her daughter is dead. This scene was later put into the Director’s Cut and created a perfect character for Creative Assembly to play around with, and she already has ties to the original franchise by being the daughter of Ellen Ripley. Awesome.

It looks like the 1979 movie

maxresdefault

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ApjNlaPNZtE

The ship looks like the same kind of ship as the Nostromo, the tech looks like the 1970’s science fiction tech they would come up with (including a very clunky tracker device) and the detail looks fantastic. You just have to watch the trailer above to see how great it looks.

It looks scary

If there was one thing Alien was great at, it was building up tension slowly using sounds and music to put your nerves on edge as you wait for the next scary thing to happen. It seems to be the case that Alien: Isolation is mimicking this horror technique, and having watched several reaction videos, it seems to be working.

Ripley’s back

alien-isolation-dlc-637x360

Not just Amanda Ripley, but Ellen Ripley too. Sigourney Weaver is back voicing her iconic character in two extra missions that you get for free with pre-order DLC. Other cast members who are back voicing their characters include Tom Skerritt (Dallas) and Yaphet Kotto (Parker). You find yourself back on the Nostromo for two missions: Crew Expendable and Last Survivor. Take a look at the trailer for the special missions here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TVnxmsz967w

 

